Alaska Concealed Carry

Alaska: Gun Laws Summary

Alaska is a shall-issue, permitless carry state. There is no firearms registration, no permit is required to purchase firearms and no background check is required to buy a handgun from a private individual.

Open carry is legal in Alaska for any person who is legally allowed to possess a firearm. The minimum age to open carry is 21. Some areas are off-limits, including K-12 schools and any place where intoxicating liquor is sold for on-site consumption. [11.61.220, 11.61.210]

Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal for anyone at least 21 years of age or older who can legally possess a firearm — a permit is not required. Residents who are seeking to be exempt from background checks when purchasing additional firearms or who want to carry a firearm in other states can obtain a concealed handgun permit to use in states with which Alaska has a reciprocity agreement. Concealed handgun permits are issued by the Alaska State Police and require a firearms training course that has been state-approved. Alaska does not issue permits to non-residents. In terms of reciprocity, since Alaska has permitless carry, any person 21 years of age and older who can legally possess a firearm may carry a concealed firearm on his or her person without a license or permit. [18.65.700, 18.65.765, 11.61.220]

Use of Non-Deadly Force in Defense of Self

A person is justified in using non-deadly force when and to the extent the person reasonably believes it is necessary for self-defense against the use of unlawful force by the other person, unless:

  • The person used the force in mutual combat not authorized by law;
  • The person claiming self-defense provoked the other’s conduct;
  • The person claiming self-defense was the initial aggressor; or
  • The person claiming self-defense possessed a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument while committing a felony or exacting revenge.

[09.65.330, 11.81.330, 11.81.335, 11.81.340, and 11.81.350]

Immunity: Use of Defensive Force

Any person who uses a gun in self-defense has immunity from criminal and civil law. [09.65.330, 11.81.330, 11.81.335, 11.81.340, and 11.81.350]

Alaska: Gun Laws at a Glance

Permitless Carry Alaska allows permitless carry.
Open Carry Open carry is permitted in Alaska without a permit for any person who is legally allowed to possess a firearm. The minimum age to open carry is 16. [Alaska Stat. § 11.61.220(a)(1)]. This conflicts with federal law, which prevents anyone under 18 from possessing a firearm.
Concealed Carry Permits Alaska is a shall-issue state. Concealed carry permits are issued to applicants who meet the requirements under Alaska law. [Alaska Stat. § 18.65.765(a)].
Concealed Carry of Weapons Other Than Handguns No, concealed carry permits only apply to handguns. [Alaska Stat. § 18.65.765(a)].
Magazine Capacity Restrictions No, Alaska does not have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns.
Chemical Spray/Pepper Spray Yes, it is legal to purchase and use pepper spray in Alaska. There is no statute prohibiting the purchase or use of pepper spray in Alaska.
Ammunition Restrictions No, Alaska does not have ammunition restrictions.
Minimum Age for Concealed Carry Permits The minimum age to obtain a concealed carry permit in Alaska is 21. [Alaska Stat. § 18.65.765(a)].
Tasers and Stun Guns Yes, stun guns and Tasers are legal to purchase and possess without a permit. They are defined as defensive weapons. [Alaska Stat. § 11.81.900(a)(20) and 11.61.210(a)(7)]. It is illegal for K-12 students to have stun guns or Tasers on school property or on school buses without the prior permission of the chief administrative officer of the school or district, or the designee of the chief administrative officer for the possession. [Alaska Stat. § 11.61.210(a)(7)].

Alaska: Carry Locations

Can you carry a concealed firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Alaska? Concealed carry is allowed in restaurants, unless posted and provided you consume no alcohol.
Alaska Stat. §§11.61.220(a)(2) and (d)
Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Alaska? Alaska statutes don't specifically address firearms at hotels. Please note that each hotel develops their own policies and the individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See the Handguns at Hotels page for additional information.
Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Alaska? Yes, a loaded firearm can be carried openly or concealed by anyone at least 21 years old that can legally own a handgun.
Alaska Stat. § 18.65.800
Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Alaska? Yes.
Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forests and Wildlife Management Areas in Alaska? Yes. See the National Parks webpage for links to each Park in Alaska.
Does Alaska have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot? The state, a municipality or a person may not adopt or enforce a law, ordinance, policy or rule that prohibits an individual from possessing a firearm while that individual is within a motor vehicle. Nor prohibit an individual from storing a firearm that is locked in the individual's motor vehicle while the motor vehicle is otherwise legally parked in or on state or municipal property or another person's property. This section applies only to possession of a firearm by an individual who may legally possess a firearm under state and federal law.
An employer or its agent may, however, prohibit firearms possession in the following areas:
(1) Within a “restricted access area” (an area beyond a secure point where visitors are screened that does not include common areas of ingress and egress open to the general public);
(2) Within a vehicle owned, leased or rented by the employer or its agent; or
(3) In a parking lot owned or controlled by the employer within 300 feet of the secured restricted access area.
Alaska Stat. § 18.65.800(a)

Alaska: Key State Laws

Red Flag Law Alaska does not have a red flag law.
Concealed Carry Permits for Non-Residents Alaska does not issue concealed carry permits to non-residents.
Access to Concealed Carry Registry Information While the public cannot access concealed carry registry information through public records law, the information is available for law enforcement.
Duty to Notify Police Officer Alaska law requires that you have a duty to inform a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm. Violating this duty is considered a crime.
Carrying a Concealed Firearm While Consuming Alcohol Alaska law prohibits carrying a concealed firearm while consuming alcohol. As a responsibly armed American, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement.
Link Between Driver's License and Concealed Handgun Permit Your Alaska driver’s license is linked to your Alaska concealed handgun permit, meaning that a law enforcement officer will be notified immediately that you are a concealed carry permit holder if they run your driver’s license.
Preemption Laws Related to Concealed Carry Alaska state law has preemption, meaning that the state's authority to regulate firearms supersedes local laws regarding the possession of handguns. Municipalities may enact and enforce ordinances that, in part, restrict the discharge of firearms, prohibit firearms in restricted access areas or municipal government buildings. [Alaska Stat. § 29.35.145(a)]
Definition of Brandishing Alaska law does not define brandishing, but a person commits the crime of assault in the third degree if that person recklessly places another person in fear of imminent serious physical injuries by means of a dangerous instrument. A person commits the crime of disorderly conduct if, in a public or private place, the person challenges another to fight or engages in fighting other than self-defense. [Alaska Stat. § 11.41.220][Alaska Stat. § 11.61.110]

Alaska: Handgun Purchase and Possession

Permit to Purchase No, a permit is not required to purchase a handgun in Alaska.
Background Checks for Private Sales No, private firearms transfers are not subject to a background check requirement, although federal and state purchaser prohibitions, including age restrictions, still apply. It is recommended that you retain any sales receipts to prove ownership of the gun. [source]
Background Check Exemption with Concealed Carry Permit Yes, for concealed weapons permits marked National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS)-Exempt only. [source]
Waiting Period No, there is no waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Alaska. [source]
Handgun Registration No, handguns do not need to be registered in Alaska. [source]
Permitless Carry in Home Yes, permitless carry is allowed in Alaska for anyone legally entitled to carry a firearm. It is prohibited for any person from knowingly carrying a concealed weapon in the residence of another without his or her permission. [source]
Minimum Age to Possess/Transport Handgun 16 years old. A person commits the crime of misconduct involving weapons in the fifth degree if the person; being an unemancipated minor under 16 years of age, possesses a firearm, switchblade or gravity knife without the consent of a parent or guardian of the minor. [AS 11.61.220]
Great! Next, complete checkout for full access to University of Guns.
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
You've successfully subscribed to University of Guns.
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.
Success! Your billing info has been updated.
Your billing was not updated.